Notre Dame’s Darren Cowie will lead a youthful T&T senior men’s hockey team into battle against host Brazil from 3 pm today in Rio de Janiero, Brazil when the four-team Olympic Test Event flicks off until Saturday. In the day’s opening match, Chile and Mexico will face off from 12.30 pm.

Tomorrow, T&T faces Chile from 1 pm, followed by Mexico and Brazil at 3.30 pm. On Friday, the final day of round-robin matches will see Mexico facing T&T at 11 am and Chile versus from Brazil from 1.30 pm At the end of the round-robin stage, the top two teams will meet in Saturday’s final while the remaining two teams play for third.

In addition to Cowie, the 18-man T&T squad also includes reigning T&T Hockey Board “Player of the Year” and Pan American Elite All Star, Akim Toussaint, veteran goalkeeper Andrey Rocke, 2013 “Player of the Year” Mickell Pierre, Kiel Murray, Marcus James and Shaquille Daniel.

With an eye towards the future, national coach Glen “Fido” Francis’ squad features ten players who are currently training with the national Under-21 squad in preparation for the Junior Pan American Championships in May, 2016 headed by Courts Malvern trio Kristien Emmanuel, Tariq Marcano and Teague Marcano.

Queen’s Park Cricket Club (QPCC) duo Jarryon Paul and Zachary Clarke along with Carib’s Dylan Francis have been named to the team for the first time.

The Olympic Test Event is an exhibition tournament and does not serve as a qualifier for any future Olympic or World Cup competition, but will however provide the organising committee with an important opportunity to test the Olympic competition area and results system, as well as integrating all relevant stakeholders and training the team of people who will be responsible for running the event during the 2016 Games.

Tournament schedule

Chile vs Mexico, 12.30 pm
T&T vs Brazil, 3 pm

T&T vs Chile, 1 pm
Mexico vs Brazil, 3.30 pm

Mexico vs T&T, 11 am
Chile vs Brazil, 1.30 pm

Third vs Fourth, 2.30 pm
First vs Second, 3.30 pm

T&T men’s hockey team

Darren Cowie (captain), Andrey Rocke (GK), Kwasi Emmanuel (GK), Akim Toussaint, Mickell Pierre, Kiel Murray, Marcus James, Shaquille Daniel, Michael O’Connor II, Jordan Vieira, Kristien Emmanuel, Lyndell Byer, Jarryon Paul, Tariq Marcano, Teague Marcano, Zachary Clarke, Dylan Francis, Che Modeste.

Technical staff: Glenn “Fido” Francis (coach), Christabella George-Ford (manager), Kirth Davis (asst. manager), Nicholas Baldeosingh (videographer), Zynul Khan (Doctor), Karielle De Bique (physiotherapist), Kevin MacIntyre (massage therapist), Shayne Cooper (trainer)