OVER 150 cyclists are expected to place their bikes on the line for the opening of the 2016 Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation (TTCF) Racing Season with the first leg of the Road Series pedalling off from the Mucurapo Foreshore today from 7am.

The course, which has become a tradition, will see cyclists compete across a quick 72.4km event taking them from Port-of-Spain to Couva and back.

Last year, Gavyn Nero (Team DPS) rode away from James Hadeed (Heatwave) and Jovian Gomez (PSL) within the last few kilometres to take the top prize, and he will be eager to repeat those heroics this time around.

The 2016 edition however, will feature Sprint Prime points and cash prizes will be available at two strategic sprint locations-- Endeavour Flyover (southbound) and Endeavour Flyover (northbound).

In addition, a cash prize will also be given to the club with the greatest number of cyclists in the top ten.

In the event that there is a tie, the club which receives the most number of points in the Open category will take the prize.

The event will start and finish at the Mucurapo Foreshore Lookout along the Audrey Jeffers Highway.

The 2016 Road Series will take place from January to September this year, with the TTCF Racing Committee planning more competitive and difficult single and multi-stage courses to truly challenge TT’s road/endurance cyclists.

Today’s event was made possible through the sponsorship of Team Drive Phase Sport.