...Warren bags shot put silver

Khalifa St Forte won the Women’s 100m final at the Pan American Junior Games in Edmonton, Canada on Friday evening. The American-born athlete, who is coached by Ato Boldon, clocked 11.31 to edge American Aleiba Hobbs (11.50) and Teahna Daniels (11.54) into second and third respectively.

The 17-year-old had set a new national Under 18 record (11.19) two weeks ago when she won silver at the IAAF World Youth Championships in Colombia. Her achievement came on the eve of the 19th anniversary of her coach’s 200m bronze medal run at the 1996 Atlanta Olympics.

In other events, Portious Warren won the silver in the Women’s Shot Put after throwing a personal best of 15.57m in her second attempt. The gold was won by Raven Saunders of the USA, who smashed the old meet record (17.55m) with 18.27m on her second throw. She also bettered the mark on her third (17.63m) and sixth (17.60m) attempts.

Meanwhile, Jeminise Parris  was fourth in the Women’s 100m Hurdles  final, coming in at 13.98. American Dior Hall won the gold in 13.20 with Ecuador’s Maribel Caicedo (13.45) and Jamaican Daeshon Gordon (13.70) winning silver and bronze respectively.

Andwuelle Wright was fifth in the Men’s Long Jump with a 7.51m effort in his fourth attempt. His teammate Che Richards was 11th with 7.08m. Topping the field was Cuban Juan Miguel Echevarria with 7.76m, followed by Bahaman Laquan Nairn (7.65m) and American Keandre Bates (7.54m). Aaron Lewis just qualified for the Men’s 110m Hurdles final when he finished fourth in his heat in a time of 13.92. Ahead of him were Jamaica Seanie Selvin (13.71), American Marquis Morris (13.76) and Puerto Rican Richard Torres (13.83). The final was scheduled for last night.

Kayelle Clarke did not finish her Women’s 200m heat, which was won by Bajan Sada Williams in 23.46. The National Association of Athletics Administrations (NAAA) of T&T has extend its congratulations to both medallist winners St Fort and Warren.

Today's action will see Kenejah Williams in the Men's Shot Put and Omari Benoit in the Men's High Jump. The Women's 4x100m relay team of St Forte, Jendayi Noel, Kayelle Clarke and Jael Fergusson will enter the final while Joash Huggins, Corey Stewart, Francis Louis and Nathan Farinha will take part in the Men's 4x100m final.