On the 26th March 2015, twenty-eight (28) members from various sporting organizations concluded the 21st Sport Administration Course offered by the Trinidad and Tobago Olympic Committee (TTOC). The modules in the course included: Role and Structure of the IOC, Ethics in Sport and Fair play, Communication, Governance in Sport, Constitution, Strategic Planning, Financial Management and Budgeting, Public Relations, Event Management, Sport Medicine, Marketing, Development Pathway and Sponsorship.


The TTOC’s President, Mr. Brian Lewis, gave a heartfelt send off and urged the participants to use the knowledge gained through the course to manage their sporting organizations more effectively.


After the graduation ceremony, participant Ralph Henry of the BCATT, expressed gratitude on behalf of his colleagues for the opportunity to build their capacity in Sport Administration.


“We would like to thank the Olympic Committee for implementing this initiative with the goal of raising the standards in sport. It was a very refreshing and eye-opening course in which we were forced to measure where we were as administrators in our various sporting disciplines, with the aim of making the necessary adjustments within our structure and our approach in sports administration so that we will be able to raise the standards to the necessary level for us to have a solid & comprehensive sporting environment for our athletes”


Ms. Felix who hails from a small community on the North Coast expressed her experience during the 4-week course.


“You cannot conceive to understand the empowerment I have experienced during this course. The facilitators were excellent and very informative, the environment was conducive for learning and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. Your organisation has surpassed all expectations; truly your organisation is a beacon to what all sporting bodies should exemplify” (Nikeisha Felix, North Coast Sports Academy)



Congratulations to the participants of the ­21st cohort of the Sport Administration Course:



Nataki Akil Bua (Ventures Hockey Club)

Jean Paul Bartholomew (Trinidad and Tobago Coast Guard)

Patrice Charles (Trinidad and Tobago Cadet Force)

Johann Corneille (Trinidad and Tobago Refereeing Association)

Paul De Leon (Racing Pigeon Commission of Trinidad and Tobago)

Shawn Deacon (Newtown Athletics Club)

Stacey Dickson (Big Sepos Volleyball Club)

Kamla Elcock  (Trinidad and Tobago Volleyball Federation)

Nikeisha Felix (The North Coast Sports Academy)

Trevor Flower (Trinidad and Tobago Chess Association)

Innocents Hamilton (Special Olympics Trinidad and Tobago)

Shurland Hartley (West Penn Sports and Culture)

Francis Haynes (Trinidad and Tobago Volleyball Federation)

Ralph Henry (Basketball Coaches Association of Trinidad and Tobago)

Kenny James (Newtown Athletics Club)

Nadia James (UWI Spec)

Dwane John (Caledonia AIA)

Mary Lane (Bike Smith Cycling Club)

Selwyn Luces (West Penn Sports and Culture)

Honory Mc Donald (Ministry of Sport)

Peter Brent Miller (EFA Referees Department)

Jenelle Nedd Ministry of Sport)

Sharon O’Brien (Trinidad and Tobago Football Association/ TT WoLF)

Claire Orr (Trinidad and Tobago Cycling Federation)

Natalie Paul Morris (Memphis Pioneers)

Inshan Ramsaroop (TSTT)

Anthony Sanchez (Tennis Association T&T)

Dexter Voisin (NAAA)