Watch the Ceremony Here!
Trinbago2023 Magazine
Trinbago 2023 Commonwealth Youth Games




The Worldwide Olympic Partners

Team TTO on Facebook

Team TTO on Twitter

Couldn't resolve host ''

TeamTTO on Instagram

Maloney Girls’ RC ‘B’ were crowned champions of the 2016 Primary Schools Outdoor Hockey Tournament female category via a closely contested 2-1 penalty shootout against Maloney Government when action climaxed at the National Hockey Centre, Tacarigua, yesterday.

With the score level at 0-0 at the end of regulation time, top goalscorers Amoraya Sahadeo and Hayley Gopaul (four each) netted decisive penalties for Mucurapo to capture top honours. In their respective semi-final clashes, the Mucurapo girls breezed past Arima Centenary 4-0 while Maloney slipped past Mucurapo’s ‘A’ team 1-0. Holding on to bronze medals were the girls from Arima Centenary who clinched a 1-0 win over Mucurapo ‘A’ from a penalty shootout.

In the boys’ equivalent, Diego Martin RC ‘B’ edged Good Shepherd Anglican 1-0 in the final through a penalty corner strike from the tournament’s Most Valuable Player, Shawn Phillip. Both finalists achieved a shot at the title having conquered Arima Centenary (4-0) and Maloney Government (5-0) in their respective semi-final encounters.

And in the thirdplace playoff, Arima emerged 2-1 victors ahead of Maloney.

Good Shepherd’s Akiel Calliste finished as the top scorer in this division with his haul of 11 goals.

Next on the agenda for schools will be the Secondary Schools’ Under-16 and Under- 20 Outdoor Hockey Tournaments set to take place on March 10-11 at the National Hockey Centre.