THE four top Under-14 tennis players in Trinidad this season will be

involved in the B and C Doubles Tournament over the next three days at the National Tennis Centre, Tacarigua. Ethan Ammon, Nabeel Mohammed, Gianluc Robinson and Aaron Soo Ping all performed

admirably this year and were only overshadowed in International Tennis Federation (ITF) junior tournaments by Tobagonian Elan Mendes.

Ammon, who won an ITF Under-14 crown early in the season in Barbados and lost in the final the following week in Trinidad, has been competing against the Under-16 players over the last few months.

He is combining with Soo Ping Chow, a fellow left-hander who was partner in the ITF event in Barbados in March.

They were beaten in the title match of that tournament by Mohammed and Robinson, but Robinson will be playing with Mohammed's older brother Ibrahim this weekend, while Nabeel has teamed with Jelani Davidson.

Davidson also enjoyed a successful season and saved his best for the sister isle where he captured the B class title in the Tobago Open.

David Ramsumair and Kehron Ward will form the other pair in the B class event, which is a straight round-robin competition.

The same principle will apply in the C class event where there are three pairs.

Just like the Mohammed brothers, the Moonasar brothers will not be playing together as Keshan will be accompanied by Devrawn Patrick and Rishi will be assisted by Kerri Smith. The other combination is Liu Chin and Samir Eattwy.

There is no B class event for the women and the seven pairs have been placed in two round-robin groups, with the top two from each group advancing to the semi-finals.

Aura Whittier, who finished runner-up four times in Under ten and -12 events this season, is playing with her sister Ananda.

The list of competitors also includes Dominique Coutain, Makalah Goodridge, Danielle Devenish and Carisa Rudolfo, who have all had success in junior tournaments this season, and TATT (Tennis Association of Trinidad and Tobago) secretary Jacqui Castillo.

Here are the groups: Group A–D. Coutain/M. Goodridge; J.Castillo/Sarah Salandy; Kasajia Edwards/Michaela Edwin

Group B–Juliet Campbell/D. Devenish; Jasmine Ellatwy/C. Rudolfo; A & A Whittier; Rochelle Howe/Tayna Wright.

First serve today is 6 p.m.

By Shammi Kowlessar